Year 5 & 6 Spelling

08 July 2022

Posted on Friday 08 July 2022 by Mark Mills

This week, we would like you to practise a mixture of all the spelling patterns we’ve been learning this half term. Please learn these words for a test next week.

  • chronology
  • geographically
  • dictionary
  • delicious
  • ambitious
  • anxious
  • partial
  • substantial
  • residential

01 July 2022

Posted on Friday 01 July 2022 by Mark Mills

This week we have been learning about the word endings –ance and –ence. Please learn the following words for a test on Thursday 7th July

  • hindrance
  • apparent
  • convenience
  • excellent
  • existence
  • frequent
  • nuisance
  • sufficient

24 June 2022

Posted on Friday 24 June 2022 by Mark Mills

This week, we have been reminding ourselves how to use apostrophes for contractions.

Use the words below and use their contracted forms in a sentence.

  • I am   –  I’m
  • do not – don’t
  • I will – I’ll
  • did not – didn’t
  • is not – isn’t
  • cannot – can’t
  • should not – shouldn’t
  • was not – wasn’t

17 June 2022

Posted on Friday 17 June 2022 by Mark Mills

This week, we have been learning about words that contain prefix roots such as photo, para and tele. Please learn them for a test on Thursday 23rd June

  • redesign
  • chronology
  • structure
  • dictionary
  • signalling
  • designation
  • assignment
  • geographically
  • automatic

10 June 2022

Posted on Friday 10 June 2022 by Mark Mills

This week, we have been learning about prefixes and suffixes. Learn the following words for a test next week on Thursday 16th June.

  • reattached
  • unfinished
  • definitely
  • detachment
  • infinitely
  • reattachable
  • attachment
  • finalist

06 May 2022

Posted on Friday 06 May 2022 by Mark Mills

This week we have been learning about words that have unusual spelling patterns. Please learn the following words for a test on Thursday 12th May

  • muscle
  • privilege
  • programme
  • rhyme
  • rhythm
  • sacrifice
  • shoulder
  • temperature
  • thorough

29 April 2022

Posted on Friday 29 April 2022 by Mark Mills

This week, we have been learning about unusual spelling patterns. Please learn the following words for a test on Thursday 05 May.

  1. amateur
  2. ancient
  3. bargain
  4. bruise
  5. conscience
  6. environment
  7. foreign
  8. mischievous
  9. prejudice

22 April 2022

Posted on Friday 22 April 2022 by Mark Mills

The spellings this week are based on homophones- words that have the same pronunciation but different meanings or spellings. Please learn them for  a test on Thursday 28th April

  • draught
  • draft
  • dissent
  • descent
  • decent
  • proceed
  • precede
  • wary
  • weary

25 March 2022

Posted on Friday 25 March 2022 by Mark Mills

This week we have been learning about prefixes such as telesuper and inter. Please learn them for a test on Thursday 31st March.

  • interfere
  • interrupt
  • supernatural
  • superimpose
  • autobiography
  • autograph
  • television
  • telescope
  • teleport

18 March 2022

Posted on Friday 18 March 2022 by Mark Mills

This week we have been learning about the -tial and -cial spelling pattern.

Please learn the following words for a test on Thursday 24 March

  • controversial
  • official
  • commercial
  • special
  • artificial
  • glacial
  • social
  • influential
  • confidential